Management Committee

The 2019/20 Committee was elected at the AGM in May 2019.  Committee meetings are held on the 2nd Friday of each month.  U3A Members are welcome to attend Committee Meetings by prior arrangement.

President  Diane Cuthbert – Diane and her husband Lloyd moved to the north coast in 2016.  Diane’s background is as a Town Planner and prior to her retirement was the Planning Director of a large Western Sydney council.

Vice President, Greg Unwin – Over the last 50 years I have been a Member &/or on the Management Team for numerous community and sporting associations.

Secretary (Web Admin) Sue Bell – I have worked with non-profit organisations for over 20 years and I have a business background. A member of U3A Ballina/Byron for 8 years during which I have served as Vice President and continue as a volunteer Tutor for Creative Craft and Chat.

Treasurer Barb McCall – This is my fourth year as Treasurer. I have lived most of my life in the Ballina and Lismore areas. I taught at Dunoon, The Channon and Wardell until I retired in 2012. I run the Exploring Books Group and the Monday and Tuesday Walking Groups.

Committee Member (Promotions & Public Officer) Warren Hastings Harris. A Sydneysider by birth, Warren’s principal career was as a 22-year service officer with the Immigration Department in various of its incarnations.  He also has earlier experience in public relations and promotions in a show business context.

Committee Member (Social Committee Chair) Ann Neal – Member since 2013 after relocating from Sydney’s Northern Beaches.  Background in primary teaching and interior design.  Past tutor of creative writing group. Social Committee Co-chair for the past 3 years.

Committee Member Richard Grzegrzulka – I arrived to this area in 1980 to provide dietian services to Hospitals and Community Health Centers with a focus on our local Aboriginal Community and a Mental Health clients.  My involvement in a number of committees afforded me a deep understanding of how organizations are run and how to strive for best outcomes.  I retired 6 years ago and enjoy my role on the U3A committee, and regard U3A as a well functioning volunteer organisation with so much to offer our senior population, with much more to come.

Committee Member (Class and Venue Co-Ordinator and Newsletter Editor) Heather Munro – Heather is a retired primary school teacher who has lived and worked in the area since 1988. Within U3A, she enjoys playing, and tutoring Mahjong, bird watching, walking groups and providing individual technology support.

Committee Member Jill Gibbons – I moved to Ballina 18 months ago and joined U3A 12 months ago. In U3A I joined the walking group and Mahjong. Before retiring to Ballina I worked as a Physiotherapist in Palliative Care in Sydney.

Committee Member Ross Glover

Committee Member John Reid is a true local. He was born in Ballina, attended Ballina Primary and Ballina High Schools. Work and business took him to Sydney and other areas of NSW and QLD. He and his wife Terry returned to the Ballina area 30 years ago. He has been a member of U3A Ballina/Byron Inc for 10 years and a Committee Member for 5 years.

Committee Member Viv Miller. Viv spent most of her working life as a primary school teacher in Townsville, North Queensland. After that she spent a few years in retail, managing various shops in Townsville. After moving to Lennox Head she spent about 7 years as a volunteer wildlife carer, and is always passionate about animals. The next move was to Ballina where she became involved in U3A, and has served in many different capacities in this organisation.

Non Office Bearing Positions 

Mullumbimby Representative, Class and Venue Coordinator  Gerti Krebs  


To contact any of the people listed above please send an email or telephone our office to leave a message, and the person concerned will get back to you. Contact details are below:

 U3A Ballina/Byron office telephone 0473 520 184


 Mail address: PO Box 55, Ballina 2478